spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Philae drains battery, enters hibernation
Posted: Sat, Nov 15, 2014, 11:42 AM ET (1642 GMT)
Philae release from Rosetta (ESA) ESA's Philae lander stopped transmitting early Saturday as the spacecraft, located in a shadowed region of comet 67P/Churyumov–Gerasimenko, exhausted its batteries. ESA said it lost contact with Philae at about 7:36 pm EST Friday (0036 GMT Saturday) as the spacecraft drained its batteries. The lander did complete its primary science mission during the nearly 57 hours it was on the comet, transmitting that data to the Rosetta orbiter and on to Earth because depleting its battery. Philae bounced twice during its landing on November 12, coming to rest in an area with limited illumination and thus preventing the lander's solar arrays from recharging its batteries. Despite the loss of power, ESA officials called the lander's mission a success, and said it was possible that the lander could be revived later when as the landing area gets more sunlight.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia launches classified satellite
Posted: Sun, Jun 25 9:02 AM ET (1302 GMT)

SpaceX Falcon 9 launches BulgariaSat-1
Posted: Sun, Jun 25 9:01 AM ET (1301 GMT)

PSLV launches 31 satellites
Posted: Sun, Jun 25 8:59 AM ET (1259 GMT)

news links
Monday, June 26
Beware of Mars and Bust
The Space Review — 4:54 pm ET (2054 GMT)
A small country’s big vision about small objects
The Space Review — 4:53 pm ET (2053 GMT)
Outpost in the Sky: Skylab, the NASA Mission Reports
The Space Review — 4:52 pm ET (2052 GMT)
Review: Mars: The Pristine Beauty of the Red Planet
The Space Review — 4:49 pm ET (2049 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list