spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


EUVE reentry over Egypt
Updated: Thu, Jan 31, 2002, 9:33 PM ET (0233 GMT)
Originally Posted: Thu, Jan 31, 2002, 8:52 AM ET (1352 GMT)
EUVE The Extreme Ultraviolet Explorer (EUVE) spacecraft came back to Earth over central Egypt Wednesday night, according to NASA reports Thursday. According to a space agency press release Thursday EUVE came down at 11:15 pm EST Wednesday (0415 GMT Thursday) over central Egypt. There were no information regarding whether any spacecraft debris survived reentry, and if so, where it might have landed. Late Wednesday NASA had said that EUVE came down at 11:25 pm EST (0425 GMT) over the Persian Gulf, after previously predicting an impact time of 11 pm EST (0400 GMT) over Brazil. EUVE lacked thrusters that would have permitted spacecraft operations to make a controlled reentry, as was done in 2000 for the Compton Gamma Ray Observatory, hence the uncertainty about the exact time and location of reentry. Up to 100 kilograms of titanium and stainless steel components of the spacecraft could have survived reentry.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 23
Cover Story: The ultimate frontier market
The Edge Daily (Malaysia) — 1:58 am ET (0658 GMT)
Next-generation weather satellite in orbit, gets new name
Huntsville Times — 1:56 am ET (0656 GMT)
Successful First International Moon Village Workshop at ISU
International Space University — 1:53 am ET (0653 GMT)
The Short Life and Death of a Space Tourism Company
Air & Space — 1:51 am ET (0651 GMT)
Building for a Future in Space
University College Dublin Observer — 1:47 am ET (0647 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list