spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


ISS crew temporarily evacuates part of ISS due to false alarm
Posted: Thu, Jan 15, 2015, 6:46 AM ET (1146 GMT)
ISS during STS-135 mission (NASA) The crew of the International Space Station sealed off the station's US segment for much of Wednesday after a computer glitch indicated a possible ammonia leak there. Alarms on the station sounded around 4 am EST (0900 GMT) Wednesday indicating problems with a cooling system on the US segment that NASA said could be linked to a possible leak of ammonia coolant. The station's six-person crew moved to the Russian segment of the ISS and closed the hatch as ground controllers diagnosed the problem. Engineers later concluded that there was no ammonia leak, and instead a data relay unit malfunctioned, sending erroneous data. Astronauts reentered the US segment around 3 pm EST (2000 GMT) and detected no traces of ammonia in the atmosphere. NASA said the incident should have no long-term effect on ISS operations, including scientific research being done there.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Union accepts contract to end ULA strike
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:41 PM ET (1741 GMT)

Contamination found in SLS core stage tubing
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

Appropriators pass NASA spending bill that funds WFIRST
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:39 PM ET (1739 GMT)

news links
Saturday, May 26
Rocket Lab announces new mission launch window
New Zealand Herald — 9:29 am ET (1329 GMT)
Rocket Lab's new window for first launch
NEWS.com.au — 9:28 am ET (1328 GMT)
7 things we learned about SpaceX from COO Gwynne Shotwell
Los Angeles Business Journal — 9:24 am ET (1324 GMT)
Sir Richard Branson training to be astronaut as space race hots up
Press Association — 9:14 am ET (1314 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list