spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


ATV leaves ISS for final time
Posted: Mon, Feb 16, 2015, 7:36 PM ET (0036 GMT)
ATV-5 approaching ISS (Roscosmos/ESA) A European cargo spacecraft undocked from the International Space Station for the final time Saturday and burned up in the atmosphere a day later. The Automated Transfer Vehicle 5 (ATV-5) spacecraft undocked from the station's Russian segment at 8:40 am EST (1340 GMT) Saturday and reentered a little more than 24 hours later, breaking up in the atmosphere shortly after 1 pm EST (1800 GMT) Sunday. ATV-5 was the final such cargo spacecraft the European Space Agency built to transport cargo to the ISS and also maintain the station's orbit; ESA elected to work with NASA on building the service module for the Orion spacecraft rather than build additional ATV vehicles.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Final Delta 2 launches ICESat-2
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:41 AM ET (1441 GMT)

Japanese ISS cargo mission launch scrubbed
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:40 AM ET (1440 GMT)

SpaceX to announce new plans for circumlunar trip
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:39 AM ET (1439 GMT)

news links
Saturday, October 20
A fraying spaceflight infrastructure
The Space Review — 10:20 am ET (1420 GMT)
Asteroid mining: appealing to our romantic side?
The Space Review — 10:20 am ET (1420 GMT)
Review: Above and Beyond
The Space Review — 10:17 am ET (1417 GMT)
What A Space Force Could Mean For Greater Boston
WBUR-FM Boston — 9:20 am ET (1320 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list