spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Astronauts compete first in series of spacewalks
Posted: Sun, Feb 22, 2015, 10:17 AM ET (1517 GMT)
ISS EVA on 2015 February 21 (NASA) Two NASA astronauts on the International Space Station successfully completed Saturday the first in a series of three spacewalks to prepare the ISS for the installation of new docking ports. Barry Wilmore and Terry Virts spent six hours and 41 minutes outside the ISS on Saturday, completing their spacewalk at 2:26 pm EST (1926 GMT). The two worked on rerouting cabling on the Harmony module and Pressurized Mating Adapter 2. That work is part of a larger effort spanning three spacewalks to prepare for the installation of new docking ports for commercial crew vehicles that will be delivered to the station later this year. The second EVA, also by Virts and Wilmore, is scheduled for Wednesday.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia plans to resume crewed Soyuz launches in December
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)

China launches Beidou satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

Dawn mission declared over
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 15
ULA demos Vulcan Centaur rocket assembly, shows new welders
WAAY-TV Huntsville, AL — 5:37 am ET (1037 GMT)
1st Daytime Florida Launch in Months to Bring Heavy Crowds
Spectrum News — 5:35 am ET (1035 GMT)
Humans need Mars as a 'plan B' to avoid extinction, says physicist Michio Kaku
Australian Broadcasting Corporation — 5:31 am ET (1031 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list