spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


News briefs: February 4
Posted: Tue, Feb 5, 2002, 7:06 AM ET (1206 GMT)
  • A Pegasus XL rocket is ready to launch NASA's High Energy Spectroscopic Imager (HESSI) spacecraft Tuesday afternoon. Launch of HESSI is scheduled for 3:26 pm EST (2026 GMT) off the coast from Cape Canaveral, Florida. Launch of HESSI has been delayed for over a year to repair damage to the spacecraft caused during a ground test as well as investigations into the failure of a booster similar to the Pegasus XL.
  • Mars is the most popular destination for future planetary science missions, according to the results of a Planetary Society released Monday. The Moon, Europa, Pluto, and Io were also popular proposed destinations. Over 50,000 people completed surveys on the future of NASA's planetary science programs on the society's web site last month.
  • The first Russian launches of 2002 are scheduled for the end of this month, RIA Novosti reported Monday. An unnamed booster, believed to be a Soyuz, is scheduled to launch a military payload from Plesetsk on February 27. Another Soyuz rocket will launch a Progress cargo spacecraft to ISS one day later from Baikonur.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Final Delta 2 launches ICESat-2
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:41 AM ET (1441 GMT)

Japanese ISS cargo mission launch scrubbed
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:40 AM ET (1440 GMT)

SpaceX to announce new plans for circumlunar trip
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:39 AM ET (1439 GMT)

news links
Friday, September 21
Air Force padded its $13 billion Space Force estimate, analyst says
Washington Examiner — 5:51 am ET (0951 GMT)
Kleos Space seals launch deal for 'scouting mission' satellites
Luxembourg Times — 5:49 am ET (0949 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list