spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Falcon launches communications satellite
Posted: Tue, Apr 28, 2015, 8:54 AM ET (1254 GMT)
Falcon 9 v1.1 launch of Thales satellite (SpaceX) A Falcon 9 rocket launched a communications satellite built for Turkmenistan and Monaco on Monday evening. The Falcon 9 v1.1 lifted off from Cape Canaveral at 7:03 pm EDT (2303 GMT), nearly one hour late because of cloudy weather. The rocket deployed the TurkmenAlem52E/MonacoSat into geostationary transfer orbit a half-hour after launch. The 4,700-kilogram satellite, built by Thales Alenia Space, will operate at 52 degrees east in GEO. The satellite will primarily be used by the government of Turkmenistan to provide communications services, with some transponders leased to Monaco, whose GEO slot the satellite will occupy.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Union accepts contract to end ULA strike
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:41 PM ET (1741 GMT)

Contamination found in SLS core stage tubing
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

Appropriators pass NASA spending bill that funds WFIRST
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:39 PM ET (1739 GMT)

news links
Saturday, May 26
Rocket Lab announces new mission launch window
New Zealand Herald — 9:29 am ET (1329 GMT)
Rocket Lab's new window for first launch
NEWS.com.au — 9:28 am ET (1328 GMT)
7 things we learned about SpaceX from COO Gwynne Shotwell
Los Angeles Business Journal — 9:24 am ET (1324 GMT)
Sir Richard Branson training to be astronaut as space race hots up
Press Association — 9:14 am ET (1314 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list