spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


MESSENGER missions ends with crash on Mercury
Posted: Sat, May 2, 2015, 10:42 AM ET (1442 GMT)
MESSENGER in orbit around Mercury (JHUAPL) NASA's MESSENGER mission came to an end Thursday when the spacecraft, out of fuel, crashed on the surface of the planet Mercury. MESSENGER hit the surface of the planet at 3:26 pm EDT (1926 GMT) Thursday as expected. The spacecraft's altitude had been decaying as it ran out of fuel to maintain its orbit. MESSENGER, the first spacecraft to orbit Mercury, had been orbiting the innermost planet since 2011 and long exceeded its planned mission there. The project team said they expected the impact to create a crater more than 15 meters across.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Soyuz upper stage issue may delay first OneWeb launch
Posted: Sat, Feb 2 10:34 AM ET (1534 GMT)

SSL backs out of satellite servicing program with DARPA
Posted: Sat, Feb 2 10:31 AM ET (1531 GMT)


news links
Saturday, February 16
Building a better booster (part 1)
The Space Review — 3:49 pm ET (2049 GMT)
A helping hand for giant telescopes
The Space Review — 3:48 pm ET (2048 GMT)
A space-focused alternative to a Green New Deal
The Space Review — 3:47 pm ET (2047 GMT)
Review: War in Space
The Space Review — 3:46 pm ET (2046 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list