spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Progress reenters over Pacific
Posted: Fri, May 8, 2015, 7:55 PM ET (2355 GMT)
Progress M-23M approaching the ISS (NASA) A Progress spacecraft that controllers lost control of shortly after launch reentered harmlessly over the Pacific Ocean Thursday night. The Russian space agency Roscosmos said the Progress M-27M spacecraft reentered at 10:04 pm EDT Thursday (0204 GMT Friday), while US Strategic Command reported a reentry time of 10:20 pm EDT (0220 GMT). The spacecraft was over the Pacific at both times, and there were no reports of debris hitting the ground from the spacecraft. The Progress, launched April 28 on a mission to deliver cargo to the ISS, flew out of control shortly after reaching orbit, possibly because of a problem with the upper stage of its Soyuz rocket. An update on the investigation into the failure is expected May 13.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Sunday, July 15
China’s OneSpace Counts Down To Market Entry
AINonline — 3:31 pm ET (1931 GMT)
UK's first spaceport will be built at Sutherland in the Highlands
Glasgow Daily Record — 3:29 pm ET (1929 GMT)
The Grimsby man who invented the space shuttle
Grimsby (UK) Telegraph — 3:27 pm ET (1927 GMT)
Good Brexit deal needed to ensure space investment, expert says
Press Association — 3:26 pm ET (1926 GMT)
Countdown begins for UK’s race into space
Sunday Times of London — 3:25 pm ET (1925 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list