spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Soyuz-2 rocket returns to flight in military launch
Posted: Sat, Jun 6, 2015, 11:36 AM ET (1536 GMT)
Soyuz-2 launch of Cosmos 2505 (Russian MoD) A Soyuz-2.1a rocket launched a military satellite Friday in the first launch of that vehicle since the loss of a Progress spacecraft in April. The Soyuz-2.1a rocket lifted off from the Plesetsk Cosmodrome in northern Russia at 11:24 am EDT (1524 GMT, 6:24 pm Moscow time) carrying a satellite designated Cosmos 2505. Russian reports did not disclose the satellite's mission, beyond serving the Russian military, but outside experts believe the satellite is a reconnaissance satellite. The launch was the first for the Soyuz-2 since April 28, when it launched a Progress cargo spacecraft to the ISS. A mishap blamed on a "design peculiarity" between the Progress and the Soyuz's upper stage caused the Progress to spin out of control after its release from the upper stage; it reentered in early May after its docking with the International Space Station was called off.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Sunday, July 15
China’s OneSpace Counts Down To Market Entry
AINonline — 3:31 pm ET (1931 GMT)
UK's first spaceport will be built at Sutherland in the Highlands
Glasgow Daily Record — 3:29 pm ET (1929 GMT)
The Grimsby man who invented the space shuttle
Grimsby (UK) Telegraph — 3:27 pm ET (1927 GMT)
Good Brexit deal needed to ensure space investment, expert says
Press Association — 3:26 pm ET (1926 GMT)
Countdown begins for UK’s race into space
Sunday Times of London — 3:25 pm ET (1925 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list