spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Vega launches Earth sciences spacecraft
Posted: Fri, Jun 26, 2015, 2:35 PM ET (1835 GMT)
Vega launch of Sentinel-2A (ESA) A Vega rocket successfully placed a European Earth sciences satellite into orbit late Monday. The Vega lifted off from Kourou, French Guiana, at 9:52 pm EDT Monday (0152 GMT) and placed the Sentinel-2A satellite into a sun-synchronous orbit. The 1,130-kilogram satellite, built by Airbus Defence and Space for ESA and the European Commission, will provide multispectral medium-resolution imagery of the Earth to support various scientific and natural resources purposes. The satellite is part of Europe's Copernicus program of more than a dozen Earth observation spacecraft.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Sunday, July 15
China’s OneSpace Counts Down To Market Entry
AINonline — 3:31 pm ET (1931 GMT)
UK's first spaceport will be built at Sutherland in the Highlands
Glasgow Daily Record — 3:29 pm ET (1929 GMT)
The Grimsby man who invented the space shuttle
Grimsby (UK) Telegraph — 3:27 pm ET (1927 GMT)
Good Brexit deal needed to ensure space investment, expert says
Press Association — 3:26 pm ET (1926 GMT)
Countdown begins for UK’s race into space
Sunday Times of London — 3:25 pm ET (1925 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list