spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


PSLV launches five British-built satellites
Posted: Sat, Jul 11, 2015, 2:48 PM ET (1848 GMT)
PSLV launch of DMC3 satellites, July 2015 (ISRO) An Indian Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle (PSLV) successfully launched Friday five satellites built by a British company. The PSLV-XL rocket lifted off from the Satish Dhawan Space Centre at 12:28 pm EDT (1628 GMT, 9:58 pm local time) Friday and placed its payload of five satellites into a 647-kilometer sun-synchronous orbit. Three of the satellites were the DMC3 satellites, weighing 450 kilograms each and built by Surrey Satellite Technology Ltd. (SSTL) for the Chinese company 21AT. The three satellites will join the Disaster Monitoring Constellation to provide Earth imagery. The launch also carried two SSTL-built technology demonstration payloads, the 91-kilogram CBNT-1 and 7-kilogram Nanosatellite De-OrbitSail spacecraft. The mission represented the heaviest payload the PSLV has launched on a commercial mission.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Soyuz upper stage issue may delay first OneWeb launch
Posted: Sat, Feb 2 10:34 AM ET (1534 GMT)

SSL backs out of satellite servicing program with DARPA
Posted: Sat, Feb 2 10:31 AM ET (1531 GMT)


news links
Saturday, February 16
Building a better booster (part 1)
The Space Review — 3:49 pm ET (2049 GMT)
A helping hand for giant telescopes
The Space Review — 3:48 pm ET (2048 GMT)
A space-focused alternative to a Green New Deal
The Space Review — 3:47 pm ET (2047 GMT)
Review: War in Space
The Space Review — 3:46 pm ET (2046 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list