spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Soyuz sends new crew to the ISS
Posted: Thu, Jul 23, 2015, 5:38 PM ET (2138 GMT)
Soyuz TMA-17M launch (NASA) A Soyuz spacecraft with three people on board docked with the International Space Station Wednesday night, nearly six hours after its launch from Kazakhstan. A Soyuz rocket carrying the Soyuz TMA-17M spacecraft lifted off at 5:02 pm EDT (2102 GMT) Wednesday, placing the spacecraft into orbit. The Soyuz spacecraft docked with the Rassvet module of the ISS at 10:45 pm EDT (0245 GMT Thursday) after a four-orbit trip. The Soyuz brought to the station Russian cosmonaut Oleg Kononenko, American astronaut Kjell Lindgren, and Japanese astronaut Kimiya Yui. They join the three people currently on the ISS, including year-long mission participants Scott Kelly and Mikhail Kornienko. The launch was pushed back from late May after the April failure of a Progress cargo spacecraft.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Sunday, July 15
China’s OneSpace Counts Down To Market Entry
AINonline — 3:31 pm ET (1931 GMT)
UK's first spaceport will be built at Sutherland in the Highlands
Glasgow Daily Record — 3:29 pm ET (1929 GMT)
The Grimsby man who invented the space shuttle
Grimsby (UK) Telegraph — 3:27 pm ET (1927 GMT)
Good Brexit deal needed to ensure space investment, expert says
Press Association — 3:26 pm ET (1926 GMT)
Countdown begins for UK’s race into space
Sunday Times of London — 3:25 pm ET (1925 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list