spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


HTV launch set for Wednesday
Posted: Tue, Aug 18, 2015, 11:20 PM ET (0320 GMT)
H-2B rocket before HTV-5 launch (NASA) A Japanese cargo spacecraft is scheduled to launch to the International Space Station on Wednesday after several days of weather delays. The H-2B rocket is set to lift off from the Tanegashima Space Center at 7:50 am EDT (1150 GMT, 8:50 pm local time) carrying the H-2 Transfer Vehicle (HTV) 5 spacecraft. HTV-5 is carrying more than 4.5 tons of supplies and equipment, as well as a 635-kilogram astrophysics experiment in the vehicle's unpressurized section that will be mounted on the station's exterior. The launch was scheduled for Sunday but postponed to Monday, then Wednesday, because of poor weather at the launch site.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
FCC chairman endorses SpaceX satellite constellation
Posted: Sat, Feb 17 6:29 PM ET (2329 GMT)

Soyuz launches Progress after delay
Posted: Sat, Feb 17 6:27 PM ET (2327 GMT)

NASA budget proposal seeks to cancel WFIRST
Posted: Sat, Feb 17 6:20 PM ET (2320 GMT)

news links
Saturday, February 24
AAS Names Debra Fischer as Kavli Foundation Plenary Lecturer
American Astronomical Society — 9:42 am ET (1442 GMT)
“Ultramassive” black holes discovered in far-off galaxies
Univ. of Montreal — 9:42 am ET (1442 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list