spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Soyuz launches on two-day mission to the ISS
Posted: Thu, Sep 3, 2015, 9:45 AM ET (1345 GMT)
Soyuz TMA-18M launch (NASA) A Soyuz spacecraft carrying crewmembers from Russia, Denmark, and Kazakhstan launched early Wednesday on a two-day mission to the ISS. The Soyuz TMA-18M spacecraft launched atop a Soyuz rocket at 12:37 am EDT (0437 GMT) Wednesday from the Baikonur Cosmodrome. The spacecraft is taking Russian cosmonaut Sergey Volkov, European astronaut Andreas Mogensen, and Kazakh cosmonaut Aidyn Aimbetov to the station. While recent Soyuz missions have made the trip in six hours, this mission is taking a two-day transit because of the station's orbit at the time of launch. Aimbetov and Mogensen will return September 16 in the Soyuz TMA-16M spacecraft along with current ISS crewmember Gennady Padalka; Volkov will stay on the station for a half-year.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Final Delta 2 launches ICESat-2
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:41 AM ET (1441 GMT)

Japanese ISS cargo mission launch scrubbed
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:40 AM ET (1440 GMT)

SpaceX to announce new plans for circumlunar trip
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:39 AM ET (1439 GMT)

news links
Thursday, September 20
Pentagon Faces 'Intimidating' Process to Create Space Force
National Defense Magazine — 6:40 am ET (1040 GMT)
Blue Origin's Jeff Bezos Adds Some Uncertainty To Key Launch Target
Investor's Business Daily — 6:38 am ET (1038 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list