spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


China launches remote sensing satellite
Posted: Tue, Sep 15, 2015, 11:16 PM ET (0316 GMT)
Long March 2D launch of Gaofen-9 (Xinhua) A Long March rocket placed what Chinese officials described as a high-resolution Earth imaging satellite on Monday. The Long March 2D rocket lifted off from the Jiuquan Satellite Launch Center at 12:42 am EDT (0442 GMT, 12:42 pm Beijing time) Monday and placed the Gaofen-9 satellite into sun-synchronous orbit. Chinese official described the satellite as a remote sensing spacecraft capable of taking images with resolutions sharper than one meter per pixel. The spacecraft's official purpose is for civil applications, but some outside observes believe it may also have military uses.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Saturday, July 21
Welcome to the Era of Orbital Publicity Stunts
Wired News — 4:08 am ET (0808 GMT)
ULA hopes to launch more affordable rocket
WAFF-TV — 4:06 am ET (0806 GMT)
Boeing, SpaceX delays may mean 'gap' in access to space station
Huntsville Times — 4:05 am ET (0805 GMT)
Presidential Message on Space Exploration Day
White House — 4:01 am ET (0801 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list