spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Proton launches Russian communications satellite
Posted: Tue, Sep 15, 2015, 11:28 PM ET (0328 GMT)
Proton M launch of Express-AM8 (Roscosmos) A Proton rocket successfully launched a Russian communications satellite on Tuesday. The Proton M rocket lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome at 3:00 pm EDT Monday (1900 GMT Monday, 1:00 am local time Tuesday) and released the Express-AM8 satellite into its planned orbit six and a half hours later. The spacecraft was built for the Russian Satellite Communications Company by ISS Reshetnev in cooperation with Thales Alenia Space. The 2,100-kilogram satellite will provide communications services for parts of Russia, Europe, the Middle East, Africa, and Latin America at C-, Ku-, and L-bands from its final location at 14 degrees west in GEO.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
FCC chairman endorses SpaceX satellite constellation
Posted: Sat, Feb 17 6:29 PM ET (2329 GMT)

Soyuz launches Progress after delay
Posted: Sat, Feb 17 6:27 PM ET (2327 GMT)

NASA budget proposal seeks to cancel WFIRST
Posted: Sat, Feb 17 6:20 PM ET (2320 GMT)

news links
Saturday, February 24
AAS Names Debra Fischer as Kavli Foundation Plenary Lecturer
American Astronomical Society — 9:42 am ET (1442 GMT)
“Ultramassive” black holes discovered in far-off galaxies
Univ. of Montreal — 9:42 am ET (1442 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list