spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


China introduces Long March 6
Posted: Sat, Sep 26, 2015, 10:35 AM ET (1435 GMT)
Long March 6 first launch (Xinhua) China carried out the first launch of its Long March 6 rocket, a next-generation launch vehicle that uses new propellants. The Long March 6 lifted off from Taiyuan Satellite Launch Center at 7:01 pm EDT Sept. 19 (2301 GMT Sept. 19, 7:01 am Beijing time Sept. 20) and placed 20 microsatellites into orbit. The original launch attempt, one day earlier, was scrubbed by an unspecified technical issue. The rocket is the first in a new series of launch vehicles developed by China that use more environmentally friendly propellants, liquid oxygen and kerosene. The Long March 6 is designed to place about one ton into orbit, and will be complemented by the larger Long March 5 and 7 rockets under development.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Final Delta 2 launches ICESat-2
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:41 AM ET (1441 GMT)

Japanese ISS cargo mission launch scrubbed
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:40 AM ET (1440 GMT)

SpaceX to announce new plans for circumlunar trip
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:39 AM ET (1439 GMT)

news links
Saturday, October 20
A fraying spaceflight infrastructure
The Space Review — 10:20 am ET (1420 GMT)
Asteroid mining: appealing to our romantic side?
The Space Review — 10:20 am ET (1420 GMT)
Review: Above and Beyond
The Space Review — 10:17 am ET (1417 GMT)
What A Space Force Could Mean For Greater Boston
WBUR-FM Boston — 9:20 am ET (1320 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list