spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Rockot launches military communications satellites
Posted: Sat, Sep 26, 2015, 10:37 AM ET (1437 GMT)
Rockot launch, September 2015 (Russian MOD) A Russian Rockot vehicle placed three military communications satellites into orbit on Thursday. The Rockot lifted off from the Plesetsk Cosmodrome at 6:00 pm EDT Wednesday (2200 GMT Wednesday, 1:00 am Moscow time Thursday) and placed three Rodnik satellites, designated Cosmos 2507, 2508, and 2509, into orbit. The low Earth orbit satellites provide communications services for military users. Previous Rodnik launches have also included a fourth satellite used for military technology demonstration purposes, including proximity operations with the rocket's upper stage, but there was no indication such a satellite was included on this launch.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Final Delta 2 launches ICESat-2
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:41 AM ET (1441 GMT)

Japanese ISS cargo mission launch scrubbed
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:40 AM ET (1440 GMT)

SpaceX to announce new plans for circumlunar trip
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:39 AM ET (1439 GMT)

news links
Saturday, October 20
A fraying spaceflight infrastructure
The Space Review — 10:20 am ET (1420 GMT)
Asteroid mining: appealing to our romantic side?
The Space Review — 10:20 am ET (1420 GMT)
Review: Above and Beyond
The Space Review — 10:17 am ET (1417 GMT)
What A Space Force Could Mean For Greater Boston
WBUR-FM Boston — 9:20 am ET (1320 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list