spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


India launches astronomy satellite
Posted: Fri, Oct 2, 2015, 1:04 PM ET (1704 GMT)
PSLV launch of Astrosat (ISRO) An Indian PSLV rocket placed the country's first astronomy satellite and several secondary payloads into orbit Monday. The PSLV lifted off from the Satish Dhawan Space Centre at 12:30 am EDT (0430 GMT, 10:00 am Indian time) Monday and placed the Astrosat satellite into a near-equatorial low Earth orbit. Astrosat, India's first astronomy satellite, is a 1,531-kilogram designed to perform observations at visible, ultraviolet, and x-ray wavelengths. The PSLV also flew six small satellites as secondary payloads, including four cubesats developed by a US company, Spire, to perform ship tracking and weather observations.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Saturday, July 21
Welcome to the Era of Orbital Publicity Stunts
Wired News — 4:08 am ET (0808 GMT)
ULA hopes to launch more affordable rocket
WAFF-TV — 4:06 am ET (0806 GMT)
Boeing, SpaceX delays may mean 'gap' in access to space station
Huntsville Times — 4:05 am ET (0805 GMT)
Presidential Message on Space Exploration Day
White House — 4:01 am ET (0801 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list