spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


China launches commercial remote sensing satellites
Posted: Sat, Oct 10, 2015, 11:08 AM ET (1508 GMT)
Long March 2D launch of Jilin-1 (Xinhua) A Long March rocket launched China's first commercial Earth imaging satellites Wednesday. The Long March 2D rocket lifted off from the Jiuquan Satellite Launch Center at 12:13 am EDT (0413 GMT, 12:13 pm Beijing time) and placed four satellites, collectively known as Jilin-1, into a Sun-synchronous orbit. The spacecraft, built by Chang Guang Satellite Technology Co., Ltd. and funded by the Chinese province of Jilin, are capable of taking still and video images, with resolution of the optical still images as sharp as 0.72 meters. The spacecraft are the first Chinese satellites designed to take imagery for commercial applications.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Saturday, July 21
Welcome to the Era of Orbital Publicity Stunts
Wired News — 4:08 am ET (0808 GMT)
ULA hopes to launch more affordable rocket
WAFF-TV — 4:06 am ET (0806 GMT)
Boeing, SpaceX delays may mean 'gap' in access to space station
Huntsville Times — 4:05 am ET (0805 GMT)
Presidential Message on Space Exploration Day
White House — 4:01 am ET (0801 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list