spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


First Super Strypi launch fails
Posted: Wed, Nov 4, 2015, 8:18 PM ET (0118 GMT)
Super Strypi on rail launcher (US Air Force) The first launch of a Super Strypi rocket from Hawaii failed shortly after liftoff Tuesday. The small rail-guided rocket lifted off at 5:45 pm HST Tuesday (10:45 pm EST Tuesday, 0245 GMT Wednesday) from the Pacific Missile Range Facility on the island of Kauai. Video of the launch showed the rocked beginning to spin and tumble before telemetry was lost less than a minute after liftoff. The Air Force confirmed that the rocket "failed in mid-flight" but offered no other details about the failure of the mission. The rocket, on a mission for the Operationally Responsive Space Office called ORS-4, was carrying a small satellite built by the University of Hawaii and 12 cubesats, including eight for NASA's small satellite technology program.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 23
Cover Story: The ultimate frontier market
The Edge Daily (Malaysia) — 1:58 am ET (0658 GMT)
Next-generation weather satellite in orbit, gets new name
Huntsville Times — 1:56 am ET (0656 GMT)
Successful First International Moon Village Workshop at ISU
International Space University — 1:53 am ET (0653 GMT)
The Short Life and Death of a Space Tourism Company
Air & Space — 1:51 am ET (0651 GMT)
Building for a Future in Space
University College Dublin Observer — 1:47 am ET (0647 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list