spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


H-2A launches commercial satellite
Posted: Sat, Nov 28, 2015, 4:48 PM ET (2148 GMT)
H-2A launch of Telsat 12 Vantage (MHI) A Japanese H-2A rocket launched a communications satellite for a Canadian company in a rare commercial mission for the launch vehicle. The H-2A lifted off from the Tanegashima Space Center at 1:50 am EST (0650 GMT, 3:50 pm Japan time) Tuesday and released the Telstar 12 Vantage satellite into orbit four a half hours later. The satellite, built by Airbus Defence and Space for Telesat, weighed 4,800 kilograms at launch and carries a payload of Ka- and Ku-band transponders. The satellite will operate from 15 degree west in GEO, serving customers on both sides of the Atlantic. The launch was the first commercial communications satellite launched by the H-2A, whose manufacturer, Mitsubishi Heavy Industries, hopes to have play a bigger role in the commercial launch market.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Saturday, July 21
Welcome to the Era of Orbital Publicity Stunts
Wired News — 4:08 am ET (0808 GMT)
ULA hopes to launch more affordable rocket
WAFF-TV — 4:06 am ET (0806 GMT)
Boeing, SpaceX delays may mean 'gap' in access to space station
Huntsville Times — 4:05 am ET (0805 GMT)
Presidential Message on Space Exploration Day
White House — 4:01 am ET (0801 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list