spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Vega launches LISA Pathfinder spacecraft
Posted: Sun, Dec 6, 2015, 10:01 AM ET (1501 GMT)
Vega launch of Lisa Pathfinder (ESA) A Vega small launch vehicle successfully launched ESA's Lisa Pathfinder spacecraft early Thursday. The Vega lifted off from Kourou, French Guiana, at 11:04 p.m. EST Wednesday (1:04 am local time, 0404 GMT Thursday), placing the spacecraft into an elliptical parking orbit. The spacecraft will later maneuver to the Earth-Sun L-1 Lagrange point to carry out its mission to demonstrate technologies that could be used by future spacecraft to detect gravitational waves. The launch was also the sixth for the Vega, ending a demonstration phase of the vehicle funded by ESA.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Monday, November 20
Tucson Tech: Small-sat launcher Vector lining up launch sites
Arizona Daily Star — 1:51 am ET (0651 GMT)
Poroshenko said that Ukraine is a space power
The Stopru — 1:49 am ET (0649 GMT)
UK to clear the way for US space rocket launches in Britain
The Daily Telegraph — 1:47 am ET (0647 GMT)
‘PSLV built by domestic industry by 2020’
The Hindu — 1:43 am ET (0643 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list