spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Soyuz launches military satellites
Posted: Sun, Dec 6, 2015, 10:05 AM ET (1505 GMT)
Soyuz-2 launch of Cosmos-2411 and 2412 (Russian MoD) A Soyuz rocket launched Saturday carrying two military satellites, but one of the two may have failed to separate from the rocket's upper stage. The Soyuz-2-1b rocket lifted off from the Plesetsk Cosmodrome in northern Russia at 9:09 am EST (1409 GMT, 5:09 pm Moscow time) Saturday carrying two military satellites, designated Cosmos 2511 and 2512. The Russian Ministry of Defense originally announced the launch was a success and both spacecraft were in orbit. However, Russian media later reported that sources within the Russian military said one of the two satellites failed to separate from the rocket's upper stage, and would likely be declared a loss. That report did not indicate which satellite had failed to separate. One satellite, Kanopus-ST, is designed to track ocean surface conditions and cloud cover, possibly with the ability to track submarines. The other, KYuA-1, is a radar calibration sphere.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Saturday, August 18
Get an Inside Look at SpaceX's Astronaut Training Sims
Wired News — 8:52 am ET (1252 GMT)
Space Force, Done Right, Will Move U.S. Ahead
The Heritage Foundation — 8:50 am ET (1250 GMT)
National Academies: NASA needs a plan for Mars
The Planetary Society — 8:50 am ET (1250 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list