spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


SpaceX plans Sunday launch and first stage landing attempt
Posted: Sun, Dec 20, 2015, 1:21 PM ET (1821 GMT)
Falcon 9 on pad before second OG2 launch, Dec 2015 (SpaceX) SpaceX confirmed Saturday that it plans to launch its upgraded Falcon 9 rocket on Sunday evening, and attempt to land the rocket's first stage back at Cape Canaveral. Launch of the Falcon 9, carrying 11 ORBCOMM OG2 satellites, is scheduled for a one-minute window at 8:29 pm EST (0129 GMT Monday). After stage separation, SpaceX plans to maneuver the Falcon 9 first stage back to Cape Canaveral, attempting a landing at a decommissioned launch site now known as Launching Zone 1. If successful, it would be the first time the company landed the first stage, after attempts on previous launches to land the stage on a ship in the Atlantic Ocean failed. The launch will also be the first for SpaceX since a June launch failure.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Final Delta 2 launches ICESat-2
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:41 AM ET (1441 GMT)

Japanese ISS cargo mission launch scrubbed
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:40 AM ET (1440 GMT)

SpaceX to announce new plans for circumlunar trip
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:39 AM ET (1439 GMT)

news links
Thursday, September 20
Pentagon Faces 'Intimidating' Process to Create Space Force
National Defense Magazine — 6:40 am ET (1040 GMT)
Blue Origin's Jeff Bezos Adds Some Uncertainty To Key Launch Target
Investor's Business Daily — 6:38 am ET (1038 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list