spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


SpaceX launches Thaicom-8, lands first stage
Posted: Mon, May 30, 2016, 3:38 PM ET (1938 GMT)
Falcon 9 launch of Thaicom-8 (SpaceX) A SpaceX Falcon 9 launched the Thaicom-8 communications satellite May 27, and successfully landed the rocket's first stage on a ship for the third consecutive launch. The Falcon 9 lifted off from Cape Canaveral, Florida, at 5:39 pm EDT (2139 GMT) and placed the Thaicom-8 satellite into geostationary transfer orbit a little more than a half-hour later. The rocket's first stage made a landing on the company's autonomous landing ship in the Atlantic Ocean several hundred kilometers downrange, the third launch in a row that the stage made a landing at sea. Thaicom-8, built by Orbital ATK for Thaicom, weighed about 3,100 kilograms at launch and will provide Ku-band service from 78.5 degrees east in GEO.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Union accepts contract to end ULA strike
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:41 PM ET (1741 GMT)

Contamination found in SLS core stage tubing
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

Appropriators pass NASA spending bill that funds WFIRST
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:39 PM ET (1739 GMT)

news links
Saturday, May 26
Rocket Lab announces new mission launch window
New Zealand Herald — 9:29 am ET (1329 GMT)
Rocket Lab's new window for first launch
NEWS.com.au — 9:28 am ET (1328 GMT)
7 things we learned about SpaceX from COO Gwynne Shotwell
Los Angeles Business Journal — 9:24 am ET (1324 GMT)
Sir Richard Branson training to be astronaut as space race hots up
Press Association — 9:14 am ET (1314 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list