spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Atlantis lifts off on ISS mission
Updated: Thu, Feb 8, 2001, 1:22 AM ET (0622 GMT)
Originally Posted: Wed, Feb 7, 2001, 8:08 PM ET (0108 GMT)
STS-98 launch The space shuttle Atlantis lifted off Wednesday at 6:13 pm EST (2313 GMT) from Florida's Kennedy Space Center. The launch took place two minutes later than planned to deal with a minor technical issue discovered during the T-9 minute hold, but otherwise the countdown and launch proceeded flawlessly. The shuttle is scheduled to dock with the International Space Station shortly before 12 pm EST (1700 GMT) Friday to attach the Destiny lab module to the orbiting facility. The shuttle is scheduled to return to Earth on February 18.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 23
Cover Story: The ultimate frontier market
The Edge Daily (Malaysia) — 1:58 am ET (0658 GMT)
Next-generation weather satellite in orbit, gets new name
Huntsville Times — 1:56 am ET (0656 GMT)
Successful First International Moon Village Workshop at ISU
International Space University — 1:53 am ET (0653 GMT)
The Short Life and Death of a Space Tourism Company
Air & Space — 1:51 am ET (0651 GMT)
Building for a Future in Space
University College Dublin Observer — 1:47 am ET (0647 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list