spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Rocket Lab's Electron rocket reaches space on first launch
Posted: Sat, May 27, 2017, 9:56 AM ET (1356 GMT)
Electron first launch May 2017 (Rocket Lab) Rocket Lab's Electron rocket reached space, but not orbit, on its first launch May 25. The rocket lifted off from the company's New Zealand launch site at 12:20 am EDT (0420 GMT) after several days of weather-related delays. The company said that the rocket made it into space, but "didn't quite reach orbit." Rocket Lab said it was still reviewing data about the launch, but was pleased with the outcome. Electron is a small launch vehicle capable of placing up to 150 kilograms into low Earth orbit. This launch was the first of three test launches planned by Rocket Lab before beginning commercial flights, with the next launch expected in a couple months.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Final Delta 2 launches ICESat-2
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:41 AM ET (1441 GMT)

Japanese ISS cargo mission launch scrubbed
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:40 AM ET (1440 GMT)

SpaceX to announce new plans for circumlunar trip
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:39 AM ET (1439 GMT)

news links
Thursday, September 20
Pentagon Faces 'Intimidating' Process to Create Space Force
National Defense Magazine — 6:40 am ET (1040 GMT)
Blue Origin's Jeff Bezos Adds Some Uncertainty To Key Launch Target
Investor's Business Daily — 6:38 am ET (1038 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list