spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Falcon 9 launches Formosat-5
Posted: Sun, Aug 27, 2017, 10:17 AM ET (1417 GMT)
Falcon 9 launch of Formosat-5 (SpaceX) A SpaceX Falcon 9 successfully launched a small Taiwanese remote-sensing satellite Thursday. The Falcon 9 lifted off on schedule at 2:51 pm EDT (1851 GMT) from Vandenberg Air Force Base in California and placed the Formosat-5 satellite into a sun-synchronous orbit 11 minutes later. The Falcon 9 first stage landed on a SpaceX droneship at sea, the 15th time SpaceX has successfully landed the first stage. Formosat-5, developed by Taiwan's space agency, was originally intended to launch on a Falcon 1 under a contract signed in 2010, but moved to the larger Falcon 9 when SpaceX retired the Falcon 1. The launch previously planned to include a set of secondary payloads, but they were removed from the mission earlier this year because of delays in SpaceX's launch schedule.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Falcon 9 launches Dragon to ISS
Posted: Sat, Dec 16 11:28 AM ET (1628 GMT)

Soyuz returns three ISS crewmembers to Earth
Posted: Sat, Dec 16 11:19 AM ET (1619 GMT)

Ariane 5 launches four Galileo satellites
Posted: Sat, Dec 16 11:14 AM ET (1614 GMT)

news links
Monday, December 18
ArianeGroup to start production of the first Ariane 62
Ariane Group — 6:26 am ET (1126 GMT)
Rocket Lab launch delayed until New Year after power fault
Hawke's Bay (NZ) Today — 6:24 am ET (1124 GMT)
New launch window in new year
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 6:24 am ET (1124 GMT)
Nominations Open for Space Council’s Users’ Advisory Group
SpacePolicyOnline.com — 6:20 am ET (1120 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list