spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Indian PSLV launch fails
Posted: Sun, Sep 3, 2017, 9:49 AM ET (1349 GMT)
 PSLV launch June 2017 (ISRO) India's Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle (PSLV) suffered a rare launch failure August 31. The PSLV, carrying a navigation satellite, lifted off at 9:30 am EDT (1330 GMT), and initial phases of the flight appeared to be normal. However, the upper stage and payload ended up in a lower orbit than planned. The Indian space agency ISRO confirmed that the rocket's payload fairing failed to separate, declaring the mission a failure. The launch failure was the first for the PSLV in 20 years, and will have significant effects on both India's space program as well as the international smallsat community, which had increasingly been taking advantage of secondary payload opportunities on the vehicle. The payload, the IRNSS-1H satellite, was a replacement for the country's first navigation satellite, whose onboard atomic clocks had failed.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
SpaceShipTwo reaches edge of space on latest test flight
Posted: Sun, Dec 16 12:38 PM ET (1738 GMT)

Russian cosmonauts perform arduous spacewalk to inspect Soyuz
Posted: Sun, Dec 16 12:36 PM ET (1736 GMT)

Voyager 2 enters interstellar space
Posted: Sun, Dec 16 12:35 PM ET (1735 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, January 23
Cornwall's £1bn spaceport plan hopes for lift-off in 2021
Management Today — 6:48 am ET (1148 GMT)
China's space-startup boom fueled by government boost
Nikkei Asian Review — 6:48 am ET (1148 GMT)
SpaceX readying Falcon 9 for static fire ahead of Crew Dragon debut
NasaSpaceFlight.com — 6:40 am ET (1140 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list