spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Soyuz returns with record-setting astronaut
Posted: Sun, Sep 3, 2017, 10:10 AM ET (1410 GMT)
Soyuz MS-04 landing (NASA) A Soyuz spacecraft carrying three people, including a NASA astronaut who set records while on the International Space Station, safely landed in Kazakhstan Sunday. The Soyuz MS-04 spacecraft landed on the Kazakh steppes at 9:21 pm EDT Saturday (0121 GMT, 7:21 am local time Sunday), a few hours after undocking from the ISS. The Soyuz returned to Earth Russian cosmonaut Fyodor Yurchikhin and American astronauts Jack Fischer and Peggy Whitson. Yurchikhin and Fischer had spent 136 days in space, while Whitson completed a 288-day mission to the station. Whitson has spent a total of 665 days in space over three long-duration missions, a US record.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Cassini mission ends with a plunge into Saturn's atmosphere
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 9:06 AM ET (1306 GMT)

ESA signs first Ariane 6 launch contract
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:54 AM ET (1254 GMT)

Soyuz launches new crew to the ISS
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, September 19
Northrop Grumman to acquire rival Orbital in $9.2bn deal
Financial Times — 6:35 am ET (1035 GMT)
Northrop Grumman to buy aerospace manufacturer Orbital ATK
Washington Post — 6:35 am ET (1035 GMT)
Northrop Grumman acquires Orbital ATK in $9.2B deal
Flightglobal.com — 6:34 am ET (1034 GMT)
Global security challenges spur $7.8B Northrop, Orbital merger
Washington Business Journal — 6:31 am ET (1031 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list