spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


SpaceX launches South Korean communications satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 5, 2017, 10:11 AM ET (1511 GMT)
Falcon 9 launch of Koreasat 5A (SpaceX) SpaceX launched a Korean communications satellite Monday, tying a record set by a competitor in the process. The Falcon 9 lifted off on schedule at 3:34 pm EDT (1934 GMT) from the Kennedy Space Center and placed the Koreasat 5A satellite into geostationary transfer orbit 36 minutes later. The rocket's first stage made a successful landing on a droneship in the Atlantic Ocean. The launch was the 16th this year for SpaceX, with at least three more scheduled for this year. This is the most launches in any year so far for SpaceX, and ties United Launch Alliance, who launched 16 missions in 2009 on Atlas and Delta vehicles.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Saturday, July 21
Welcome to the Era of Orbital Publicity Stunts
Wired News — 4:08 am ET (0808 GMT)
ULA hopes to launch more affordable rocket
WAFF-TV — 4:06 am ET (0806 GMT)
Boeing, SpaceX delays may mean 'gap' in access to space station
Huntsville Times — 4:05 am ET (0805 GMT)
Presidential Message on Space Exploration Day
White House — 4:01 am ET (0801 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list