spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Delta 2 launches JPSS-1 weather satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 26, 2017, 10:08 AM ET (1508 GMT)
Delta 2 launch of JPSS-1 (NASA) A Delta 2 successfully launched a weather satellite November 18. The rocket lifted off from Vandenberg Air Force Base at 4:47 am EST (0947 GMT) and deployed the first Joint Polar Satellite System (JPSS) spacecraft into a sun-synchronous orbit about one hour later. The rocket also carried five cubesat secondary payloads. JPSS-1 is the first in a new generation of polar-orbiting weather satellites, and is expected to enter operations in three months after checking out its instruments.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Union accepts contract to end ULA strike
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:41 PM ET (1741 GMT)

Contamination found in SLS core stage tubing
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

Appropriators pass NASA spending bill that funds WFIRST
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:39 PM ET (1739 GMT)

news links
Thursday, May 24
Tory Bruno, the Other Rocket Man
Air & Space — 5:46 am ET (0946 GMT)
Eugene Parker’s Journey to the Sun
Air & Space — 5:46 am ET (0946 GMT)
Bezos offers moon to space agency
InnovationAus.com — 5:43 am ET (0943 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list