spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Falcon 9 launches fourth set of Iridium satellites
Posted: Sun, Dec 24, 2017, 4:09 PM ET (2109 GMT)
Falcon 9 launch of Iridium-4 (SpaceX) A SpaceX Falcon 9 launched a fourth set of ten Iridium Next satellites Friday night, ending a record year for the launch company. The Falcon 9 lifted off from Vandenberg Air Force Base in California at 8:27 pm EST (0127 GMT Saturday) and deployed the ten satellites about an hour after launch. The launch, taking place shortly after sunset, was widely seen throughout southern California and as far east as Arizona. Unlike most recent launches, SpaceX made no effort to land and recover the first stage. The launch was the 18th Falcon 9 mission of the year, the most in any year for SpaceX. The company is planning to increase its launch rate further in 2018.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Monday, July 16
A look behind the scenes at the Parker Solar Probe
Johns Hopkins University — 12:12 am ET (0412 GMT)
MIT's 'Orbit Weaver' Turns Astronauts into Spiders
Motherboard — 12:11 am ET (0411 GMT)
Hello, Crew Dragon: SpaceX inches closer to testing new manned capsule
Orlando Business Journal — 12:10 am ET (0410 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list