spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Ariane 4 launches two military satellites
Posted: Thu, Feb 8, 2001, 12:45 AM ET (0545 GMT)
Ariane flight 139 illustration An Ariane 4 booster successfully launched two European military communications satellites Wednesday night. The Ariane 44L, a version of the Ariane 4 that uses four liquid-propellant strap-on boosters, lifted off from Kourou, French Guiana at 6:05 pm EST (2305 GMT). The launch was delayed by about 37 minutes because of a telemetry problems with one of the booster's payloads, the Skynet 4F British military communications satellite. In addition to Skynet 4F the Ariane launched Sicral, Italy's first military satellite, which will provide communications services for the Italian defense ministry. The launch, the second of the year for Arianespace, was also the first time an Ariane placed two military satellites in orbit on a single mission. The next Ariane flight is scheduled for early March, when an Ariane 5 will launch a European and Japanese communications satellites.
Related Links:
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Saturday, August 18
Get an Inside Look at SpaceX's Astronaut Training Sims
Wired News — 8:52 am ET (1252 GMT)
Space Force, Done Right, Will Move U.S. Ahead
The Heritage Foundation — 8:50 am ET (1250 GMT)
National Academies: NASA needs a plan for Mars
The Planetary Society — 8:50 am ET (1250 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list