spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Fairing problem delays Ariane launch
Posted: Tue, Feb 19, 2002, 8:17 PM ET (0117 GMT)
Ariane 44L file photo (Arianespace) An Ariane 4 launch scheduled for the early morning hours Wednesday has been delayed three days because of minor issues with the booster, Arianespace announced Tuesday. The launch of Intelsat 904 on an Ariane 44L was scheduled for 1:59 am EST (0659 GMT) Wednesday from Kourou, French Guiana, but Arianespace officials announced midday Tuesday that the launch would be delayed until the same time on Saturday. An Arianespace statement said that the delay was due to "additional work on the [payload] fairing", but Spaceflight Now reported that launch preparations had been behind schedule since last week, with the satellite delivered to the launch pad as late as Monday. Despite the delay, Arianespace said it is still planning to launch an Ariane 5 carrying ESA's Envisat earth sciences satellite on February 28.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Soyuz sends new crew to ISS
Posted: Tue, Dec 4 5:06 PM ET (2206 GMT)

NASA selects winners in CLPS competition
Posted: Tue, Dec 4 5:04 PM ET (2204 GMT)

Rocket launches Russian military satellites
Posted: Tue, Dec 4 5:02 PM ET (2202 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, December 11
Is Canada’s space program slipping out of orbit?
Macleans — 6:19 am ET (1119 GMT)
MILO Institute launches a new model for space exploration
Arizona State Univ. — 6:19 am ET (1119 GMT)
CNES lists Franco-Chinese space programme goals
Air & Cosmos International — 6:18 am ET (1118 GMT)
Luxembourg: watch this space !
Delano — 6:17 am ET (1117 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list