spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


SpaceX performs static fire test of Falcon Heavy
Posted: Sun, Jan 28, 2018, 10:39 AM ET (1539 GMT)
Falcon Heavy static fire, January 2018 (SpaceX) SpaceX carried out a static-fire test of its Falcon Heavy rocket Wednesday, setting up a launch attempt in the near future. The test firing of the massive rocket, at Kennedy Space Center's Launch Complex 39A, took place at 12:30 pm EST (1730 GMT) and lasted about 12 seconds. SpaceX didn't immediately release details about the outcome of the test, but company CEO Elon Musk tweeted that the test was "good" and that SpaceX would attempt to launch the Falcon Heavy on its inaugural flight "in a week or so." That will likely be after the scheduled Jan. 30 launch of a Falcon 9 at nearby Space Launch Complex 40 carrying GovSat-1.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Saturday, August 18
Get an Inside Look at SpaceX's Astronaut Training Sims
Wired News — 8:52 am ET (1252 GMT)
Space Force, Done Right, Will Move U.S. Ahead
The Heritage Foundation — 8:50 am ET (1250 GMT)
National Academies: NASA needs a plan for Mars
The Planetary Society — 8:50 am ET (1250 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list