spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Soyuz launches military satellite
Posted: Tue, Feb 26, 2002, 2:10 AM ET (0710 GMT)
Soyuz launch (Energia file photo) A Russian Soyuz booster launched a classified military spacecraft Monday in the first Russian launch of 2002. The Soyuz-U rocket lifted off from Plesetsk at 12:26 pm EST (1726 GMT) and placed into orbit a spacecraft officially described only as Kosmos 2387. The launch was delayed by more than two hours because of unspecified "technical factors", according to an Interfax report. The purpose of Kosmos 2387 was not explained by Russian officials, although outside analysts believe it is a Yantar-class imaging reconnaissance satellite. Monday's launch is the first of ten planned from Plesetsk, according to Russian statements. Russian officials have said in the recent past they plan to move most or all launches to the northern Russian cosmodrome from Baikonur in Kazakhstan within the next few years, although recent statements have backed off from this ambitious and unlikely goal.
Related Links:
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Atlas 5 launches SBIRS satellite
Posted: Sat, Jan 20 6:48 PM ET (2348 GMT)

Commercial crew providers may not be certified until 2020
Posted: Sat, Jan 20 6:46 PM ET (2346 GMT)

Long March 11 launches smallsats
Posted: Sat, Jan 20 6:44 PM ET (2344 GMT)

news links
Monday, January 22
Rocket Lab to rival US launches: Beck
NZCity — 5:43 am ET (1043 GMT)
Mahia has lift-off
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 5:43 am ET (1043 GMT)
Rocket launch monitored from Invercargill's inner city
Stuff.co.nz — 5:42 am ET (1042 GMT)
Rocket Lab leads the way in new space race
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 5:41 am ET (1041 GMT)
ERAU Hosts Fourth Annual Space Traffic Management Conference
Embry-Riddle Avion — 5:40 am ET (1040 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list