spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Falcon 9 launches Israeli communications satellite
Posted: Mon, Aug 12, 2019, 3:57 PM ET (1957 GMT)
Falcon 9 launch of Amos-17 (SpaceX) SpaceX placed an Israeli satellite into orbit Tuesday. The Falcon 9 lifted off from Cape Canaveral Air Force Station in Florida at 7:23 pm EDT (2323 GMT) and released the Amos-17 satellite into geostationary transfer orbit 32 minutes later. SpaceX did not land the Falcon 9 first stage but was able to catch one of the rocket's payload fairings in a net on a ship in the Atlantic. The Boeing-built satellite is designed to provide broadcast and broadband connectivity services across sub-Saharan Africa, Europe, the Middle East and parts of Asia for Spacecom.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
China launches classified satellite
Posted: Sat, Oct 19 6:35 PM ET (2235 GMT)

ESA seeks nearly $14 billion over three years
Posted: Sat, Oct 19 6:34 PM ET (2234 GMT)

InSight makes progress with heat flow probe
Posted: Sat, Oct 19 6:33 PM ET (2233 GMT)

news links
Sunday, October 20
Getting Water From Waste In Space
Forbes.com — 9:29 am ET (1329 GMT)
Waste of Space
Los Angeles Review of Books — 9:28 am ET (1328 GMT)
Study: Male mice can breed even after visits to outer space
Asahi Shimbun — 9:23 am ET (1323 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list