spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Atlantis docks with ISS
Posted: Fri, Feb 9, 2001, 1:17 PM ET (1817 GMT)
illustration of shuttle approaching ISS The space shuttle Atlantis successfully docked with the International Space Station Friday, setting the stage for the installation of a critical station module tomorrow. The shuttle docked at 11:51 am EST (1651 GMT) after a problem-free approach to the orbiting facility. Hatches separating the two spacecraft will be opened later today for a welcoming ceremony and planning meetings between the two crews. The shuttle crew will also prepare for an EVA tomorrow to attach the Destiny lab module to ISS, the first of three EVAs planned during the mission. Atlantis will remain docked to the station until Friday, February 16.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Soyuz sends new crew to ISS
Posted: Tue, Dec 4 5:06 PM ET (2206 GMT)

NASA selects winners in CLPS competition
Posted: Tue, Dec 4 5:04 PM ET (2204 GMT)

Rocket launches Russian military satellites
Posted: Tue, Dec 4 5:02 PM ET (2202 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, December 11
Is Canada’s space program slipping out of orbit?
Macleans — 6:19 am ET (1119 GMT)
MILO Institute launches a new model for space exploration
Arizona State Univ. — 6:19 am ET (1119 GMT)
CNES lists Franco-Chinese space programme goals
Air & Cosmos International — 6:18 am ET (1118 GMT)
Luxembourg: watch this space !
Delano — 6:17 am ET (1117 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list