spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Proton launches Intelsat 903
Updated: Sat, Mar 30, 2002, 9:39 PM ET (0239 GMT)
Originally Posted: Sat, Mar 30, 2002, 2:28 PM ET (1928 GMT)
Proton launch of Intelsat 903 (ILS) A Russian Proton booster launched an Intelsat communications satellite Saturday afternoon. The Proton K lifted off from Baikonur at 12:25 pm EST (1725 GMT) and placed into transfer orbit the Intelsat 903 communications satellite. The satellite was lpaced into geosynchronous orbit later Saturday using the Blok DM upper stage. Intelsat 903, a Space Systems/Loral 1300-series spacecraft, will be stationed at 34.5 degrees west longitude, will provide C- and Ku-band broadband and video services for portions of North and South America, Europe, and Africa. The launch was the first commercial Proton launch, arranged by International Launch Services, since June 2001.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 23
Cover Story: The ultimate frontier market
The Edge Daily (Malaysia) — 1:58 am ET (0658 GMT)
Next-generation weather satellite in orbit, gets new name
Huntsville Times — 1:56 am ET (0656 GMT)
Successful First International Moon Village Workshop at ISU
International Space University — 1:53 am ET (0653 GMT)
The Short Life and Death of a Space Tourism Company
Air & Space — 1:51 am ET (0651 GMT)
Building for a Future in Space
University College Dublin Observer — 1:47 am ET (0647 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list