spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Atlantis lifts off
Posted: Mon, Apr 8, 2002, 8:33 PM ET (0033 GMT)
STS-110 launch (NASA/KSC) The space shuttle Atlantis lifted off Monday afternoon on a mission to the International Space Station. Atlantis launched at 4:44:19 pm EDT (2044:19 GMT), at the end of its five-minute launch window. The countdown was stopped briefly at the T-5 minute mark to correct a synchronization glitch between systems on the orbiter and ground control. There were no other technical problems reported during the countdown and weather conditions, which had threatened to delay the launch, cooperated. Atlantis is scheduled to dock with the International Space Station around 12:00 pm EDT (1600 GMT) Wednesday. The seven-person crew of STS-110 will install the first segment of the station's truss during the 11-day mission.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Atlas 5 launches SBIRS satellite
Posted: Sat, Jan 20 6:48 PM ET (2348 GMT)

Commercial crew providers may not be certified until 2020
Posted: Sat, Jan 20 6:46 PM ET (2346 GMT)

Long March 11 launches smallsats
Posted: Sat, Jan 20 6:44 PM ET (2344 GMT)

news links
Monday, January 22
Rocket Lab to rival US launches: Beck
NZCity — 5:43 am ET (1043 GMT)
Mahia has lift-off
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 5:43 am ET (1043 GMT)
Rocket launch monitored from Invercargill's inner city
Stuff.co.nz — 5:42 am ET (1042 GMT)
Rocket Lab leads the way in new space race
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 5:41 am ET (1041 GMT)
ERAU Hosts Fourth Annual Space Traffic Management Conference
Embry-Riddle Avion — 5:40 am ET (1040 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list