spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


NASA extends NEAR mission up to 10 days
Updated: Wed, Feb 14, 2001, 2:50 PM ET (1950 GMT)
Originally Posted: Wed, Feb 14, 2001, 2:14 PM ET (1914 GMT)
Illustration of NEAR landing on Eros NASA announced this afternoon that they have extended the mission of the NEAR Shoemaker spacecraft up to 10 days to perform additional observations from the asteroid's surface. The extension, first reported earlier in the day by CNN and other media outlets, will give scientists time to use some of NEAR's instruments, primarily an X-ray and gamma-ray spectrometer, to study the composition of the asteroid's surface at resolutions not possible from orbit. It's unlikely, however, that NEAR will fire its thrusters to perform a short "hop" flight to land on another region of the asteroid, as the spacecraft has little propellant left and the current science objectives can be met by keeping the spacecraft in its current location. The extension will likely be funded out of project reserves, as funding for the mission was scheduled to end Wednesday.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Soyuz docks with ISS
Posted: Sun, Jun 10 11:12 AM ET (1512 GMT)

Curiosity detects organic molecules and methane cycle on Mars
Posted: Sun, Jun 10 11:10 AM ET (1510 GMT)

Northrop Grumman completes acquisition of Orbital ATK
Posted: Sun, Jun 10 11:09 AM ET (1509 GMT)

news links
Friday, June 22
MetService on site for planned Rocket Lab launch
Scoop.co.nz — 5:44 am ET (0944 GMT)
NZ space company prepares for launch
NEWS.com.au — 5:43 am ET (0943 GMT)
Falcon Heavy Certified For U.S. Air Force Flights
Aviation Week — 5:41 am ET (0941 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list