spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Atlantis lands at KSC
Posted: Fri, Apr 19, 2002, 1:54 PM ET (1754 GMT)
STS-110 landing at KSC (NASA) The space shuttle Atlantis landed safely at the Kennedy Space Center Friday afternoon to conclude the STS-110 shuttle mission. Atlantis touched down at 12:27 pm EDT (1627 GMT) on Runway 33 at KSC. The total flight time of the mission, from liftoff to wheels stop, was 10 days, 19 hours, 43 minutes, and 48 seconds. The landing topped off a successful mission to the International Space Station where the seven-person crew installed the first section of the station's truss. Four spacewalks took place during the mission to complete the installation of the S0 truss segment and perform various other tasks outside the station. The next shuttle mission, STS-111, is scheduled for launch on May 30. The crew of the shuttle Endeavour will deliver supplies to the station, install a Mobile Base Station on the Mobile Transporter railcar on the S0 truss, and replace a faulty wrist joint on the Canadarm2 robot arm.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia plans to resume crewed Soyuz launches in December
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)

China launches Beidou satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

Dawn mission declared over
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 15
ULA demos Vulcan Centaur rocket assembly, shows new welders
WAAY-TV Huntsville, AL — 5:37 am ET (1037 GMT)
1st Daytime Florida Launch in Months to Bring Heavy Crowds
Spectrum News — 5:35 am ET (1035 GMT)
Humans need Mars as a 'plan B' to avoid extinction, says physicist Michio Kaku
Australian Broadcasting Corporation — 5:31 am ET (1031 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list