spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Atlantis undocks from ISS
Posted: Fri, Feb 16, 2001, 2:38 PM ET (1938 GMT)
ISS after STS-98 undocking The space shuttle Atlantis undocked from the International Space Station Friday morning, wrapping up a week's stay at the orbiting facility that featured the installation of a key laboratory module. The shuttle separated from the space station at 9:06 am EST (1406 GMT), and pulled away after completing a "half loop" flyaround of the station. During their week at the station the STS-98 crew installed the new Destiny lab module, which provides key laboratory space for the station as well as new guidance control systems. The gyroscopes in Destiny that will be used for attitude control of ISS were spun up earlier this week and are working fine, with the exception of a minor, momentary glitch in one gyro Thursday. The shuttle crew will take Friday afternoon off before spending Saturday packing up in preparation for a landing at the Kennedy Space Center at about 12:50 pm EST (1750 GMT) Sunday. The next mission to ISS, the STS-102 flight of Discovery with the Expedition Two crew, is scheduled for launch March 8.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 23
Cover Story: The ultimate frontier market
The Edge Daily (Malaysia) — 1:58 am ET (0658 GMT)
Next-generation weather satellite in orbit, gets new name
Huntsville Times — 1:56 am ET (0656 GMT)
Successful First International Moon Village Workshop at ISU
International Space University — 1:53 am ET (0653 GMT)
The Short Life and Death of a Space Tourism Company
Air & Space — 1:51 am ET (0651 GMT)
Building for a Future in Space
University College Dublin Observer — 1:47 am ET (0647 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list