spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Proton launch delayed until Tuesday
Posted: Tue, May 7, 2002, 9:01 AM ET (1301 GMT)
Proton launch (file photo) A launch of a Proton booster carrying an American direct broadcasting satellite was scrubbed on Monday because of technical problems. The launch of the DIRECTV-5 satellite on a Proton-K booster was scheduled for Monday at 1:00 pm EDT (1700 GMT), but the countdown was halted only a few minutes before liftoff, and launch controllers soon announced that the launch was postponed until Tuesday. The problem was originally reported to be with the satellite, but was later described as a telemetry problem with the Proton itself. The launch has been rescheduled for Tuesday at 1 pm EDT (1700 GMT), but a final decision on a launch may not be made until early Tuesday.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Monday, November 20
Tucson Tech: Small-sat launcher Vector lining up launch sites
Arizona Daily Star — 1:51 am ET (0651 GMT)
Poroshenko said that Ukraine is a space power
The Stopru — 1:49 am ET (0649 GMT)
UK to clear the way for US space rocket launches in Britain
The Daily Telegraph — 1:47 am ET (0647 GMT)
‘PSLV built by domestic industry by 2020’
The Hindu — 1:43 am ET (0643 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list