spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Proton launches DIRECTV satellite
Posted: Wed, May 8, 2002, 12:17 AM ET (0417 GMT)
Proton launch of DIRECTV-5 (ILS) A Russian Proton rocket successfully launched an American direct broadcasting satellite Tuesday afternoon after a one-day delay. The Proton-K lifted off from Baikonur, Kazakhstan at 1:00 pm EDT (1700 GMT) and placed the DIRECTV-5 satellite into geosynchronous orbit six and a half hours later. The satellite will provide direct TV broadcasting services for American consumers from its position at 119 degrees west longitude. The satellite was originally scheduled for launch on an Atlas, but International Launch Services (ILS), which markets both the Proton and Atlas, shifted the satellite to a Proton after modifications to the satellite caused it to miss its original launch date. A technical glitch with the Proton delayed the launch from Monday until Tuesday. The launch is the second commercial Proton launch of the year and the four launch provided by ILS in 2002.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Soyuz sends new crew to ISS
Posted: Tue, Dec 4 5:06 PM ET (2206 GMT)

NASA selects winners in CLPS competition
Posted: Tue, Dec 4 5:04 PM ET (2204 GMT)

Rocket launches Russian military satellites
Posted: Tue, Dec 4 5:02 PM ET (2202 GMT)

news links
Saturday, December 15
First Images from OSIRIS REx Mission Have Scientists Buzzing with Excitement
Univ. of Central Florida — 2:07 pm ET (1907 GMT)
NASA’s First Stellar Observatory, OAO 2, Turns 50
NASA/GSFC — 2:05 pm ET (1905 GMT)
Taming turbulence: Seeking to make complex simulations a breeze
Univ. of Wisconsin — 2:05 pm ET (1905 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list