spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Shuttle landing postponed until Tuesday
Updated: Mon, Feb 19, 2001, 2:21 PM ET (1921 GMT)
Originally Posted: Mon, Feb 19, 2001, 1:19 PM ET (1819 GMT)
For the second day in a row NASA has postponed the landing of the shuttle Atlantis because of poor weather conditions at the Kennedy Space Center. High winds, clouds, and approaching rain forced NASA to scuttle two landing attempts at 1:26 pm and 3:03 pm EST (1826 and 2003 GMT). NASA will make an attempt to land the shuttle tomorrow either at KSC or at Edwards Air Force Base in California, where the weather has also been too poor to permit a landing. Two landing attempts are scheduled at KSC at 12:27 and 2:02 pm EST (1727 and 1902 GMT), with two more available at Edwards at 3:33 and 5:09 pm EST (2033 and 2209 GMT). Atlantis has enough supplies to remain in orbit through Wednesday, and weather conditions in Florida are forecast to improve tomorrow.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Soyuz sends new crew to ISS
Posted: Tue, Dec 4 5:06 PM ET (2206 GMT)

NASA selects winners in CLPS competition
Posted: Tue, Dec 4 5:04 PM ET (2204 GMT)

Rocket launches Russian military satellites
Posted: Tue, Dec 4 5:02 PM ET (2202 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, December 11
Is Canada’s space program slipping out of orbit?
Macleans — 6:19 am ET (1119 GMT)
MILO Institute launches a new model for space exploration
Arizona State Univ. — 6:19 am ET (1119 GMT)
CNES lists Franco-Chinese space programme goals
Air & Cosmos International — 6:18 am ET (1118 GMT)
Luxembourg: watch this space !
Delano — 6:17 am ET (1117 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list