spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


NASA opts for Edwards shuttle landing
Updated: Tue, Feb 20, 2001, 1:48 PM ET (1848 GMT)
Originally Posted: Tue, Feb 20, 2001, 11:40 AM ET (1640 GMT)
NASA shuttle managers decided Tuesday to land the shuttle Atlantis at Edwards Air Force Base in California after poor weather conditions persisted at the Kennedy Space Center. The 12:27 pm and 2:02 pm EST (1727 GMT and 1902 GMT) landing attempts at KSC were skipped by NASA after clouds rolled over the Florida coastline, violating safety guidelines. Weather conditions are said to be much better at Edwards, where a 3:33 pm EST (2033 GMT) landing is now scheduled. A second landing opportunity also exists at 5:09 pm EST (2209 GMT) at Edwards and 5:11 pm EST (2211 GMT) at White Sands, New Mexico, a backup site activated today in the event weather prohibited landings in Florida and California.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
China launches two navigation satellites
Posted: Sun, Jan 14 5:44 PM ET (2244 GMT)

Arianespace plans a record number of launches in 2018
Posted: Sun, Jan 14 5:43 PM ET (2243 GMT)

Orbital ATK wins Galaxy 30 order
Posted: Sun, Jan 14 5:42 PM ET (2242 GMT)

news links
Saturday, January 20
The new space race
The Economist — 9:47 am ET (1447 GMT)
No launch for Rocket Lab today
Hawke's Bay (NZ) Today — 9:44 am ET (1444 GMT)
Rocket Lab forced to abort launch again
NZCity — 9:43 am ET (1443 GMT)
Rocket Lab second test called off for today
Radio New Zealand — 9:43 am ET (1443 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list